2011 UMass Dartmouth Corsair Hall of Fame


Barbara Carreiro

Presenter: UMD Field Hockey Coach Nicole Castonguay

 Barbara Carreiro is being honored by the Corsair Hall of Fame for her contributions to the development of the women’s sports programs at then Southeastern Massachusetts University (SMU). In the earliest years following the passage of Title IX and the birth of the Corsairs’ field hockey program, Carreiro was named head coach in the team’s second year of existence and in a brief four-year period she developed a program recognized throughout the New England region. Her 1976 field hockey team has already been inducted into the Corsair Hall of Fame back in 2006. Carreiro has remained active in her sport as a leading official and assignor for a variety of collegiate conferences and is active in the US Field Hockey Association. 


Helder Braz (SMU ’86)

Presenter:  Former SMU men’s cross country coach Robert Dowd

 A 1986 graduate of Southeastern Massachusetts University, Helder Braz was part of a long line of outstanding cross country talent produced by Corsair Hall of Fame Coach Bob Dowd. Braz was a four-year runner for the Corsairs and his career was marked by honors ranging from All-New England, All-East and All-New England Division III. He earned national distinction in the Fall of 1985 when he placed 25th at the NCAA Division III Cross Country championship, earning All-America honors while leading his team to an 11th place finish that season.


Dr. Emily Valorz (UMass Dartmouth ’02)

Presenter: Former UMD Women’s Lacrosse Coach Jerry Jennings

 Dr. Emily Valorz is the first UMass Dartmouth women’s lacrosse player to be inducted into the Corsair Hall of Fame. Women’s lacrosse debuted as a varsity sport in 1998 and from 1999 through 2002, Valorz went about setting almost every offensive scoring record in the program’s brief history. She remains the only three-time team Most Valuable Player in the 14-year history of the program. She was also the Corsairs’ first Little East Conference all-star and was a Second Team All-New England Women’s Lacrosse selection as a senior. She started every game in which she played throughout her four-year career and returned to the program after graduation to serve as an assistant coach for several seasons.


William Kavanaugh

Presenter: Former UMD football player Rich Lyons

 Former head football coach William Kavanaugh, who during his 17 years with the Corsairs posted a 104-64 record, is the longest serving football coach in the program’s 24-year history.  Kavanaugh led a pair of Corsair football teams to New England Football Conference championships including his 2002 team which posted a perfect 11-0 record and earned UMass Dartmouth’s first berth into the NCAA Division III Tournament.  Kavanaugh’s Corsairs were also NEFC co-champions in 1994 when UMass Dartmouth was selected to play in the ECAC North-West Championship game, the first post-season appearance by a UMass Dartmouth football team. Kavanaugh was a three-time NEFC Coach of the Year.


1989-90 SMU Men’s Swimming and Diving Team

 The 1989-90 SMU Men’s Swimming and Diving Team is the 2011 team honoree by the Corsair Hall of Fame. Coached by Jim Filippo, this team had three individual Division III All Americas (Ian Toal, Mark McIlquham, and Tom Eagan plus Hall of Fame nominee Rich Daniello) as well as two All-America Relay Teams. Members of the team currently hold 15 of the 23 school records and five pool records. At the NEISDA championship in 1990, the 200 Yard Free Relay team was the New England champion with a meet and current school record. At the 1990 NCAA Championships, SMU placed 20th overall with a pair of 10ths, an 11th, and two 12th place finishes. On the diving side, Eagan won the first two of his six Div. III All -America honors in the one- and three-meter competitions as part of the Corsairs’ team.