Corsairs Host Louise Goodrum Invitational

Corsairs Host Louise Goodrum Invitational

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass.—The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth men's and women's swimming and diving teams hosted the Louise Goodman Invitational on Saturday afternoon at the Natatorium.

The event was held in honor of Louise Goodman who passed away in 2011. Goodrum joined the UMass Dartmouth Athletic Department in 1988. Goodrum served as the Head Athletic Trainer from 1998-2004, until she was promoted to Associate Athletic Director and Senior Women Administrator. In 2006, she was appointed Interim Athletic Director for one year before returning to her position. Goodrum was a colleague and mentor to many coaches, staff and student-athletes in the Corsair Athletic Department throughout her 13-year career.   

Alongside UMass Dartmouth, Bridgewater State University, Plymouth State University, Rhode Island College and the University of Saint Joseph's all took part in the non-scoring invitational.

The Corsair 200 yard medley team comprised of Bryan Baranick (Assonet, Mass.), Julian Jiminia (Springfield, Mass.), Michael Gryss (New Bedford, Mass.) and Tim Douchette (Middleboro, Mass.) took first place honors with a time of 1:51.84.

Baranick had first place finishing's in the 100 yard butterfly (57:82), 200 yard backstroke (2:30.90) and the 200 yard individual medley (2:12.12). Gryss was the top finisher in the 100 yard breaststroke and the 50 yard butterfly, while Ed Olean (Seekonk, Mass.) finished with a first place time of 1:58.96 in the 200 yard freestyle.

Senior Conor Szarek (Leominster, Mass.) beat out his competition in the three meter dive event with a score of 174.85.

For the lady Corsairs, Kayla Flanagan (Fairhaven, Mass.) registered the fastest times in the 100 yard backstroke and the 100 yard butterfly events with times of 1:05.97 and 1:06.34. Classmate Yulyssa Diaz (Dorchester, Mass.) was the first women to touch the wall in the mixed mile event with a time of 20:57.08.

UMass Dartmouth returns to action on November 16 when they host Bentley College at 1 p.m.