UMass Dartmouth Men’s Swimming and Diving Captures Second at Bridgewater State Invitational

UMass Dartmouth Men’s Swimming and Diving Captures Second at Bridgewater State Invitational

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. – The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth men's swimming and diving teams placed runner-up out of the five teams to compete at the 2017 Bridgewater State University Invitational on Saturday at the Dr. Mary Jo Moriarty Pool.

The Basics
Score: 2nd (352) out of 5 teams

How it Happened

Sophomore Stephen Barrett (Longmeadow, Mass.) registered a first-place finish in the eighth of 43 total events at Saturday's meet. His time of 1:56.92 in the 200-yard freestyle narrowly bested teammate Derek Marshall (Marion, Mass.), who completed the event just under a second later.

Four Corsairs finished in the top-10 of the 23 student-athletes to compete in the 100-yard freestyle. After Marshall's 52.69 second finish earned 5th place, Barrett placed eighth (53.38), senior Devin Farnsworth (Leominster, Mass.) finished ninth (54.05), and junior Anthony Toscano (Massapequa, N.Y.) placed 10th just five-hundredths of a second later.

In 50-yard backstroke action, Farnsworth came in second place with a time of 28.33 seconds, only trailing Bridgewater's Jameson Rose (Somerset, Mass.). Freshman Artem Dudko (Williamstown, Mass.) finished in 32.60 seconds, taking home eighth place for the Corsairs.

The squad of Farnsworth, Barrett, Toscano, and Marshall completed the 400-yard freestyle relay race in 3:34.66, earning runner-up behind the hosting Bears.

For the divers, freshman Jose Guerrero (New Bedford, Mass.) placed first in the o1-meter height, racking up 234.45 total points to seal the Corsairs' second victory of the day.

Bridgewater State won the meet with a score of 738 points. UMass Dartmouth finished second with 352 points, while Maine Maritime Academy (259 pts.) rounded out the top three.

Up Next

UMass Dartmouth will compete in its final meet of the calendar year on the road at Worcester, Mass. to take on Clark University, scheduled to start at 1 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 9.