Corsairs Cross Country Competes At James Earley Invitational

Corsairs Cross Country Competes At James Earley Invitational

WESTFIELD, Mass. – The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth men's cross country team placed eighth among 35 teams this afternoon at the James Earley Invitational, while the women's squad turned in their finest performance of the season.
Westfield State captured the men's invitational title with 74 total points, outdistancing Siena College (79), Williams College (92), and Babson College (111).
Senior Zach Switaj (Tamworth, N.H.) paced the Corsairs for the third time this season, completing the 8-kilometer Stanley Park course in a time of 26 minutes, 48.48 seconds to finish 14th overall.  Sophomore Michael Vaz (Dartmouth, Mass.) was the second UMD runner to cross the finish line (51st, 27:40.76).  Senior Chris Jordan (Taunton, Mass.) covered the distance in 27 minutes, 49.45 seconds to place 57th, while junior Matt Ferro (Halifax, Mass.) and sophomore Andrew Goncalves (New Bedford, Mass.) finished 72nd and 84th, respectively.

Babson junior Mark Gulesian averaged five minutes, 13.8 seconds to stand atop the podium with a time of 25 minutes, 59.47 seconds.  

Freshman Jennifer Miranda (New Bedford, Mass.) led UMass Dartmouth with a 103rd place finish, covering the 5-kilometer course in a time of 21 minutes, 27.14 seconds.  Classmate Reme Digiovanni (Southborough, Mass.) trailed Miranda by three seconds to place 106th.  Junior Samantha Roderigues (Somerset, Mass.) crossed the finish line at 21 minutes, 35 seconds, while classmate Renee Laurencelle (Tyngsboro, Mass.) and freshman Rachel Frasier (Mansfield, Mass.) rounded out the Corsairs' top-five finishers.   

Williams College placed first in the team standings with just 46 points followed by Division II members Southern New Hampshire (119) and Saint Rose (121).  Roger Williams junior Hannah Zydanowicz broke the tape at 18 minutes, 2.15 seconds. 

The UMass Dartmouth cross country teams will return to action at 11 a.m., when the harriers travel to New London, Conn. for the Connecticut College Invitational.