Corsairs Capture 4 Races At Michael Arsenault Relays

Corsairs Capture 4 Races At Michael Arsenault Relays

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. -- The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth men's and women's swimming teams opened their 2013-14 season at the 2nd Annual Michael Arsenault Memorial Relay Meet this afternoon on the campus of Bridgewater State University. 

The meet was an all relay format where swimmers competed in a multitude of distances.

The Corsairs captured a total of six races, including four by the men's squad.  The quartet of Bo Muir (Sagamore Beach, Mass.), Bryan Baranick (Assonet, Mass.), Grayham Ronan (Millis, Mass.), and Brian McCauley (Franklin, Mass.) won the 400-yard medley in a time of four minutes, 04.22 seconds.  Edward Olean (Seekonk, Mass.) and Michael Gryss (New Bedford, Mass.) combined with Baranick and Ronan to place first in the 4x100 individual medley. McCauley, Baranick, and Muir were the first team to touch the wall in the 300-yard backstroke medley.

Kendra Hebert (Lowell, Mass.), Astrid Gonzalez (Roxbury, Mass.), Brooke Garvey (North Billerica, Mass.), and Arpeni Mael (Glendale, Calif.) won the 4x25 freestlye.  

UMass Dartmouth won a pair of mixed competitions in the diving, when the team of Garvey, Hebert, Conor Szarek (Leominister, Mass.), Christian Fracia (Hampton, N.H.), and Martin Boersma (Webster, Mass.) captured the 1 and 3-meter events, respectively.    

The Corsairs will return to the pool at 1 p.m. on Oct. 26, when UMass Dartmouth hosts Babson College.