2018 Athletic Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony Set For October 19th

2018 Athletic Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony Set For October 19th

Click here to register and purchase tickets for the 2018 UMass Dartmouth Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Dartmouth, Mass. --  Five individuals and one team comprise the 31st induction class of the UMass Dartmouth Athletic Hall of Fame, as this year’s ceremony will take place on Friday, October 19th at the Woodland Commons at 6:00 pm EDT as part of Homecoming Weekend festivities.

Leading the way in this year’s class is ice hockey All-American Jonathan Dryjowicz-Burek ’11, who compiled 35 victories and led Head Coach John Rolli’s Corsairs to the 2005-06 ECAC Northeast championship and a berth in the NCAA Division III quarterfinals.  Dryjowicz-Burek earned second team All-America accolades from the American Hockey Coaches Association after recording a 17-5 mark with a 1.73 goals against average and a .944 saves percentage during that memorable campaign, as UMass Dartmouth topped Curry in the league title contest before shocking SUNY-Geneseo in the opening round of the NCAA tournament.  Jonathan became only the second player in school history to earn All-America honors and was tabbed as the ECAC Northeast Co-Rookie of the Year for his performance, and he was also named to the US College Hockey On-Line Division III first team all-star squad.  After leaving UMass Dartmouth following his freshman season, Dryjowicz-Burek returned in his junior year and appeared in 62 games over a three-season span.

Leanne Morris ’95 was one of the key performers in an historic era of Corsair women’s soccer, as the first team all-conference honoree was the leading scorer in the 1992 NCAA Division III Championships and helped lead Head Coach Ray Cabral’s squad to a berth in the national title match.  Leanne scored the winning goals in a Sweet 16 triumph over Plymouth State as well as in the national quarterfinals against Kean, and she cemented her place in program history by netting the game-winner in the national semifinal victory over Mary Washington.  Morris helped UMass Dartmouth amass an overall mark of 57-12-5 during her career with a pair of NCAA tournament berths to go with two ECAC Division III championship selections.

Shawn Theriault ’04 was a three-year letterwinner for Head Coach Bill Kavanaugh on the football field, as he graduated as the school’s all-time leading rusher with 2,849 yards.  Theriault saved his best for last, as he amassed 1,349 yards and nine touchdowns during his senior season of 2003 that included a 217-yard Most Valuable Player performance in a 21-7 victory over Worcester State in the ECAC Northeast Bowl.  Shawn still owns the Corsair single-game record of 239 rushing yards set against Western New England during the 2003 campaign.

Jason Antonio ’99 ranks 14th on the UMass Dartmouth men’s basketball career scoring list with 1,493 points, as he played in every contest during his career under the guidance of Head Coach Brian Baptiste.  Antonio helped lead the Corsairs to Little East Conference championships and berths in the NCAA tournament in both his sophomore and junior seasons of 1996-97 and 1997-98, as the two-time first team all-conference selection was the Little East tournament MVP as a junior and averaged a career-best 18.4 points per game that winter.

Scott Magane (SMU ’87) shined for Head Coach Bob Dowd’s Corsair men’s cross country squad, which he helped lead to consecutive 11th place finishes in the NCAA Division III Championships in both 1984 and 1985.  Magane qualified as an individual for the 1986 NCAA Championships and became the first runner in school history to compete at the All-New England Championships, but his achievements didn’t end in the fall, as Scott graduated as the school record holder in both the indoor and outdoor 800 meters and 4 x 800 meter relay.  Magane, who served as a Corsair captain for all three teams, earned all-New England accolades in both indoor & outdoor competition in the 800, 1500 and 3,000 meter steeplechase.

The 2003 Corsair Football team enjoyed one of the finest seasons in program history, as Kavanaugh guided his crew to a 9-2 overall mark that was capped by the ECAC Northeast Bowl victory over Worcester State.  UMass Dartmouth’s nine wins rank second only to the 2002 squad’s 11 wins and was the middle campaign in a stretch that saw the Corsairs post 27 victories and earn three post-season berths.  A total of eight individuals earned all-New England Football Conference honors from the 2003 team, including first team selections Tom Koska and T.J. Mahoney and second teamers John Falcone and Shawn Theriault.  UMass Dartmouth’s defensive unit ranked as one of the best in the nation that fall, as the Corsairs finished eighth in Division III play by allowing only 9.8 points per contest.

To register and pay for tickets online, please visit www.umassd.edu/homecoming.  For additional information on this year’s induction ceremony, please contact Stephanie Bailey in the UMass Dartmouth Department of Athletics directly at (508) 999-8720 or via email at sbailey1@umassd.edu.