Corsair Hall of Fame Class of 1997


William Kewer

Ice hockey was the sport where Bill Kewer made his mark, establishing himself as the all-time career goal scorer with 117 goals and third in career points with 178. "Unquestionably, he was the most prolific goal scorer in the history of UMass Dartmouth ice hockey," said Coach John Rolli. Kewer was instrumental in leading the Corsairs to three straight ECAC tournament appearances and a pair of ECAC Championships in 1986-87 and 1988-89. His leadership twice earned him Most Valuable Player honors in 1987-88 and 1988-89. He was also a two-time ECAC and New England Hockey Writers' All Star. In his three years on the ice, Kewer helped the Corsairs' rack up a 68-13-1 record.

Paul Hart

After one season at Rhode Island College, Paul Hart came to SMU and played three seasons, scoring 1,297 points in his career--with 526 rebounds and 222 assists. Hart's aggressive style helped him to a career average of 6.5 rebounds and 16 points per game. Hart was an important part of the Corsaris' teams that qualified for three consecutive NCAA Division III tournaments and won two Little East Conference Championships. Hart and his teammates helped put the Corsairs back into the NCAA Division III tournament field, a feat the team had not accomplished since the '75-'76 season. Hart's best season was his junior year when he was named to the NCAA Regional All- Tournament team along with Little East Conference First Team honors plus being named to the LEC All-Tournament team. He also earned Northeast Regional All Star from the Basketball Writers of America and was First Team All-New England and Honorable Mention All-America by the Associated Press. Hart repeated as an LEC All- Tournament and All-LEC selection as a senior in 1987-88.

Roger Canto

Roger Canto was among the top tennis players of his era at SMU. His four-year record for the Corsairs was 59-3 while playing at #2 singles. He was the New England NAIA Singles champion for three of his four seasons, winning the title in 1971, 1973 and 1974. He played for SMU in the NAIA National Championships in Kansas City, MO, in 1971 and 1973. In 1971, the SMU tennis team was ranked #12 in the country. Today, he is the owner and president of Canto Realty in New Bedford and was recently named Realtor of the Year by the Greater New Bedford Realtor's Association. He is also the president-elect of that organization for 1998.

Charles Frascatore

A standout in both in basketball and soccer, Charles (Chuck) Frascatore, a 1961 Bradford Durfee College of Technology graduate, was a four-year starting forward/center on the Durfee Tech basketball team and a four-year starting goalie on the soccer team. His ball-handling abilities on the basketball court during the 1957-58 season helped him be BDCTs leading scorer with 496 points, an all-time Durfee Tech freshman record, for a team that had a 17-8 record. His basketball talents shined again as a sophomore, as he was the leading scorer with 365 points. And even with an elbow fracture during his junior year, Frascatore still managed to clinch the top scorer honor with 275 points. His scoring performance for BDCT made him the second all-time leading scorer in Durfee Tech history with 1,459 points, an average of 18 points per game. In soccer, he was equally as talented during all four seasons and the combined successes in both sports helped him earn the "Outstanding Athlete" award in recognition of his four years of athletics at BDCT.

Willard Wetterland

Whether as a player or a coach, Willard (Phil) Wetterland seemed destined to be a leader. Wetterland's legacy spans nine years, beginning with his four-year career as a starting forward on Durfee Tech's basketball team. With his talent and enthusiasm, he scored 236 points his freshman year and went on to receive his first taste of leadership as co-captain to help command the team both his junior and senior year. His leadership during his senior year lifted the team to a 14-11 season as he scored 552 points. As a coach at both Durfee Tech from 1959 through 1965 and then at SMU from 1966-1968, Wetterland had some outstanding basketball teams. In his coaching debut in 1959-60, his team won 15 games and lost only three, making them the SNECC champion with a 7-1 record. In his two seasons as the SMU basketball coach, his Corsairs posted a record of 31-20.

Temple Mitchell

In the four years Temple (Pettway) Mitchell patrolled midfield for the field hockey team at SMU, she was selected as the team's Most Valuable Player in three consecutive seasons. During both her junior and senior years, she was the Corsairs' team captain as SMU posted a combined record of 31-20-6. During her junior year, SMU qualified for the ECAC Tournament with an 11-4-2 mark in 1990. It was only the second ECAC tournament appearance in SMU history at the time. Following both her junior and senior seasons, she was selected First Team Northeast Regional All-America by the College Field Hockey Coaches' Association. Her selection as First Team All-Regional made her only the second player in the program's history to earn such an honor.

1981-1982 Womens Swim Team

The 1981-82 SMU women's swimming and diving team put together an outstanding record of achievement, highlighted by its third-place finish in the New England Championships. Competing against a field of 28 teams, including schools in both Division II and III, the Corsairs, who finished 5-2 during the regular season, finished third in the region. The Corsairs had six national qualifiers advance to the NCAA Nationals at Alleghany College in Meadville, PA, including Sandy McCluskey, Kathy Dite, Kim Hartsell, Laurel Dodge, Janice O'Donnell and Mary Eagan. Two of the six national qualifiers on the team, Dite and O'Donnell, have already been inducted into the Corsair Hall of Fame. During the 1981-82 season, the Corsairs' set a total of 14 varsity records as a team. Team members include Sonja Baumann-Cardenas ('84), Diane Blumberg ('83), Christina Brown ('82), Patricia Ciavola, Jill Davison-Woods ('82), Kathleen Dite-Hervol ('84), Laurel Dodget ('85), Stacy Doherty, Nancy Droge ('84), Mary Egan ('84), Sheila Egan ('85), Therese Eisenhaur ('85), Kimberly Hartsell-Squier ('85), Laurie Siebert (Jacobs) ('83), Sandra McCluskey-Ragan ('84), Janice O'Donnell-Marshall ('82), Joan Rec-Connor ('85) and Susan Robinson-Roycroft ('83). Jim Filippo was the head coach and Bradford Lawrnece was the diving coach.