Men's Cross Country Places Sixth In UMass Dartmouth Invitational

Men's Cross Country Places Sixth In UMass Dartmouth Invitational

DARTMOUTH, Mass. --  Southern New Hampshire claimed three of the top seven individual spots to take top team honors at the 46th Annual UMass Dartmouth Men’s Cross Country Invitational on the Robert Dowd Course Saturday morning, as the Penmen topped WPI by 13 points (74-87) in the 16th running of the Buddy Harris Men’s Championship Race.

Plymouth State senior Sam Brunette took top individual honors in the event, as he covered the 8K layout in a time of 24:32.02 to outdistance Bridgewater State junior Trevor Wysong by seven seconds.  Trinity junior Weyessa McAlister was third with a time of 24:56.09, while the Southern New Hampshire sophomore duo of Cedric Jocelyn and Micah Hewitson were next with respective fourth and fifth place times of 25:08.23 and 25:11.20.

American International senior Patric Clark was sixth with a time of 25:12.38, while Southern New Hampshire junior Michael Moreno and WPI senior Michael Brady followed with times of 25:16.26 and 25:18.40.  UMass Dartmouth sophomore Bruno Pires (New Bedford, Mass.) and Springfield senior Jack Pinho rounded out the top 10 with respective times of 25:16.65 and 25:18.40.

American International copped third place in the final team standings with 108 points, while Franklin Pierce (183) and Trinity (194) rounded out the top five.  UMass Dartmouth finished sixth with 207 points on its home course, as senior Jason Karakaedos (Peabody, Mass.) added a 16th place time of 25:38.68 for the Corsairs.  Freshman Carlos Rivera (Lowell, Mass.) was 34th overall with a time of 26:02.52 for the hosts, who received respective 72nd and 76th place finishing times of 27:08.00 and 27:13.13 from freshman Jose LeClerc-Rodriguez (Chelsea, Mass.) and junior George Papoulis (Haverhill, Mass.).

UMass Dartmouth heads up to Boston next Saturday morning to compete in the Codfish Bowl Invitational at Franklin Park beginning at 10:30 am.

(Photo Credit:  Rainier Almonte '20)