DiGiovanni, Herlihy Lead Cross Country at New England Regional

DiGiovanni, Herlihy Lead Cross Country at New England Regional

WATERFORD, Conn. – The UMass Dartmouth cross country teams closed the 2015 season on Saturday, competing at the NCAA Division III New England Regional meet at Harkness Memorial State Park in Waterford, Conn. As teams, the men finished 26th out of 55 teams, matching their finish from last season, while the women placed 34th of 56 teams.

Several Corsair runners bettered their times on the Harkness Park course from Oct. 17, when UMass Dartmouth ran on the same route for the Connecticut College Invitational.

The top Corsair finisher by place on the day was junior Reme DiGiovanni (Southboro, Mass.), who placed in the top-100 in the women's meet in 93rd. She covered the 6-kilometer course in 23:35.20, her fastest time at the 6k distance this season.

Pacing the men in the 8k run was junior Sean Herlihy (Walpole, Mass.), finishing 110th out of 380 runners. He ran a season-best time as well, finishing in 26:46.30. Herlihy was followed closely by senior Cyrenus Paquin (Middleboro, Mass.), who placed 130th in 27:07.90.

Freshman Kirstie Harnden (Fitchburg, Mass.) was the second finisher for the Corsair women, stopping the timer at 24:53.40. Junior Sophie Morawski (Whately, Mass.) placed 206th in 25:18.10, with senior Brittani Atkinson (Peabody, Mass.) closing her career with a time of 25:39.30 to place 230th.

Wrapping up the UMD contingent was freshman Christina Ruiz (Taunton, Mass.) in 26:46.30 and junior Rachel Frazier (Mansfield, Mass.) in 28.34.40.

For the men, freshman Jason Karakaedos (Peabody, Mass.) placed 150th, crossing the line in 27:30.10, while sophomore Ben Braz (Peabody, Mass.) completed the course in 28:03.30 to place 196th and freshman Cory Jordan (Peabody, Mass.) placed 214th in 28:17.

Completing the men's race for the Corsairs were freshmen Alec Bonnell (Hudson, Mass.) in 28:30.90 and Tim Post (North Attleboro, Mass.) in 28:58.80.

Williams College took the regional titles in both the men's and women's races, with the Eph men scoring 67 points and the women 44. Individually, Mohamed Hussein from Amherst won the men's competition in 24:39.80 and MIT's Maryann Gong topped the women's run in 21:36.30.