Men's Cross Country Claims 2016 Codfish Bowl Title

Men's Cross Country Claims 2016 Codfish Bowl Title

BOSTON – The Corsair men placed four runners in the top 15 on Saturday, with senior Michael Vaz (Dartmouth, Mass.) placing second out of all collegiate runners to lead UMass Dartmouth to the 48th Annual Codfish Bowl title at Franklin Park on Saturday.

The Basics

Men: 1st of 16 teams (38 points)
8th of 17 teams (218 points) 

How it Happened

UMass Dartmouth's men's squad took home the Codfish, as Vaz paced his squad to a sixth-place overall finish in the field of 162 runners. Vaz was the second collegiate runner to cross the line, finishing in 26:41 just behind Babson's Matt Dynan. Seconds behind Vaz was fellow senior and co-captain Sean Herlihy (Walpole, Mass.) who trekked the 8K course in 26:59. 

Also contributing low point totals for the Corsairs were junior Dominic Roy (Alford, Mass.), who placed 13th in 27:22, and sophomore Cory Jordan (Peabody, Mass.), taking 14th on Roy's heels in 27:24. 

In the women's race, UMass Dartmouth saw nearly its whole team compete for the first time this season. Senior Reme DiGiovanni (Southborough, Mass.) led the way for the third-straight week, taking 10th out of 204 competitors in 19:48, one of the fastest times for a Corsair woman runner in the past decade. The next finisher was freshman Victoria Spitaels (West Newton, Mass.), who finished 25th overall in 20:11, running that time for the second-straight week. Winning the women's meet was Merrimack, which totaled 91 points.

Corsair Results


6th – Michael Vaz: 26:41

7th – Sean Herlihy: 26:59

13th – Dominic Roy: 27:22

14th – Cory Jordan: 27:24

21st – Robert Hanlon: 27:52

43rd – Timothy Post: 28:35



10thReme DiGiovanni: 19:48

25thVictoria Spitaels: 20:11

73rdJessica O'Reilly: 21:36

79thKirsten Harnden: 21:45

123rdChristina Ruiz: 22:54

132ndHannah Laughlin: 23:05

135thJen Miranda: 23:10

174thRachel Frazier: 24:42

178thHeather Shanks: 24:55

192ndMeaghan Shanks: 26:00