Pires, O’Reilly Gather Top-Five Finishes at Jim Sheehan Cross Country Meet

Pires, O’Reilly Gather Top-Five Finishes at Jim Sheehan Cross Country Meet

FITCHBURG, Mass. – Freshman Bruno Pires (New Bedford, Mass.) and sophomore Jessica O'Reilly (Millis, Mass.) both registered top-five finishes, leading the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth cross country squads to third- and second-place finishes, respectively, at the season-opening Jim Sheehan Memorial Meet at Fitchburg State on Saturday.

The Basics
Men: 3rd of 5 teams (72 points)
Women: T-2nd of 6 teams (76 points)

How it Happened
UMass Dartmouth saw a stellar debut out of both top finishers, with Pires claiming second overall in the field of 71 competitors. The top-finishing freshman, he crossed the line in 27:23, merely eight seconds behind the meet winner, Fitchburg State senior Anthony Darrigo.

O'Reilly took fourth overall in the women's race, timing in at 20:44 in a closely-contested top-five of 63 runners. The individual winner, Quinn Porter of Cobleskill, registered a time of 20:22, with all of the first five finishers crossing within 25 seconds of her time.

Junior Jason Karakaedos (Peabody, Mass.) and sophomore Victoria Spitaels (West Newton, Mass.) also timed into the top 10 in their respective races. Karakaedos finished the 8K course in 28:04 to place sixth, with Spitaels tripping the timer at 21:38 to finish ninth.

Two additional Corsair women, freshman Taylor Walsh (Groveland, Mass.) and junior Christina Ruiz (Taunton, Mass.), cracked the top-25 to contribute points, finishing in 22:28 and 23:15, respectively. In the men's race, senior Tyree Gorham (Brockton, Mass.) took 14th, crossing in 29:15, followed by sophomore Travis Dolcine (Somerville, Mass.), who timed in at 30:06.

Up Next
UMass Dartmouth will break next week before hosting the 45th Annual UMass Dartmouth Cross Country Invitational on Saturday, Sept. 16. The races are set to begin at 10:30 a.m.

2nd: Bruno Pires – 27:23
6th: Jason Karakaedos – 28:04
14th: Tyree Gorham – 29:15
26th: Travis Dolcine – 30:06
54th: Brandon DaSilva – 30:42
59th: Tim Post – 31:11

4th: Jessica O'Reilly – 20:44
9th: Victoria Spitaels – 21:38
22nd: Taylor Walsh – 22:28
25th: Christina Ruiz – 23:15
34th: Jennifer Jackson – 24:22
35th: Stephanie Brogdon – 24:27
53rd: Amber Cyr – 27:26