Women's Cross Country Places Fifth at 2017 LEC Championships

Women's Cross Country Places Fifth at 2017 LEC Championships

KEENE, N.H. – University of Massachusetts Dartmouth junior Jason Karakaedos (Peabody, Mass.) and freshman Bruno Pires (New Bedford, Mass.) garnered All-Conference accolades at the 2017 Little East Conference Championships on Saturday, leading the Corsair men to a third-place team finish. 

The Basics

Men: 3rd out of 7 teams (82 points)
Women: 5th out of 7 teams (102 points) 

How it Happened

Karakaedos took third overall out of 46 total runners on the afternoon, leading the way for the men's squad. The third-year runner finished the five-mile course with his career-best time of 25:43.20. finished second for his team and sixth overall, using exactly 26 minutes to complete the race. 

Plymouth State's Sam Brunnette (Newport, Vt.) stood atop the leaderboard amongst all of the male participants with a time of 24:42.5, winning his second-straight Little East Conference (LEC) Cross Country title. 

For the women, three Corsairs finished in consecutive order for the 15th-17th places of the 5K that featured 49 participants. Sophomores Victoria Spitaels (West Newton, Mass.) and Jessica O'Reilly (Millis, Mass.) registered times of 20:31.9 and 20:37.2, respectively. Just two-tenths of a second later, freshman Taylor Walsh (Groveland, Mass) crossed the finish line. 

The first of the women to complete the race was Shayna Cousineau (Cranston, R.I.) of Rhode Island College. The freshman turned in a title-winning time of 19:19.7. 

Up Next

UMass Dartmouth continues its postseason slate in Gorham, Maine in two weeks for the NCAA New England Regional Championship on Saturday, Nov. 11 beginning at 11 a.m. 

Corsair Results


3rd – Jason Karakaedos                25:43.2
6th – Bruno Pires                        26:00.1
19th – Travis Dolcine                   27:31.0
22nd – Brandon DeSilva               27:49.7
32nd – Tyree Gorham                  28:54.6
37th – Timothy Post                    29:52.7 


15th – Victoria Spitaels                20:31.9
16th – Jessica O'Reilly                 20:37.2
17th – Taylor Walsh                    20:37.4
26th – Kirstie Harnden                 21:11.9
28th – Hannah Landry                  21:13.8
37th – Christina Ruiz                   22:12.8
43rd – Stephanie Brogdon            24:23.1