O'Reilly Sets Pace For Women's Cross Country At Connecticut College

O'Reilly Sets Pace For Women's Cross Country At Connecticut College

WATERFORD, Conn. --  Both UMass Dartmouth cross country teams tuned up for the upcoming Little East Conference Championships with solid performances against a combined 14 nationally ranked teams at the Connecticut College Invitational Saturday afternoon at Harkness Park.

Sophomore Bruno Pires (New Bedford, Mass.) set the pace on the men’s side once again in leading the Corsairs to a 13th place overall performance in the 27-team field, as he covered the 8K layout in a time of 25:25.7 to finish 16th individually in a field of 402 competitors.  Senior Jason Karakaedos (Peabody, Mass.) was next in 28th place with a time of 25:43.1, while freshman Carlos Rivera (Lowell, Mass.) posted a 49th place time of 26:00.6.  Freshmen Steve Stromski (Melrose, Mass.) and Jose LeClerc-Rodriguez (Chelsea, Mass.) rounded out UMass Dartmouth’s scoring with respective 164th and 183rd place times of 27:05.7 and 27:12.8, as Amherst (72 points) took the team title in edging out runner-up Williams (76) and third place Middlebury (96).

Junior Jessica O’Reilly (Millis, Mass.) continued her stellar season on the women’s side for the Corsairs, as she finished 41st in a field of 307 runners with a time of 23:00.6 over the 6K layout.  Sophomore Taylor Walsh (Groveland, Mass.) and junior Victoria Spitaels (West Newton, Mass.) were next with respective 155th and 180th place times of 24:42.6 and 25:16.3 for UMass Dartmouth, while sophomore Stephanie Brogdon (Chelmsford, Mass.) and freshman Sabina Gill (Braintree, Mass.) rounded out the Corsair scoring by posting 273rd and 288th place times of 27:56.3 and 28:30.6 for a 24th place overall final team standing.  Middlebury topped Dickinson (67-72) for the team title in the competition, while Tufts (82) finished in third place.

Both UMass Dartmouth squads will be idle for two weeks, as the 2018 Little East Championships will take place on the campus of Bryant University in Smithfield, R.I. on Saturday, October 27th.  The men’s race begins at 2:00 pm, followed by the women’s title race at 3:00 pm.

(Photo Credit:  Samm Crosier '20)